top of page
Search
  • rw791281

Reflection on my First Semester

From the start of this first semester, I had a direction and a creative aesthetic in mind and reflecting on that now, almost completing most of my assessments, I would say I have stuck to that and am working to my own creative personality. I also aimed to learn and take away as much as I could from my experience at university and so far, I would say again, I have. I have made so many friends who have helped me with what I am unfamiliar with and I have learned so much, that I now notice every single sign with its font and spacing choices.


I even got to create my own t-shirt! That was something a little while ago I would’ve never have thought I would be able to do. But now that I’ve done it, it has created this urge inside me to do more and create more clothing designs. Being able to do that because of the simple choice of a picking course is so cool. Having people complement my shirt and being able to say I designed it is the best compliment ever.


At the start of this semester, I knew I was at a disadvantage from others, but I initially used that to push my-self further. Others had experience with the software and tools from highs school and most were in second year. However, I have had so much support from my peers and lecturers that these were minor setbacks.


Another aspect of my university life is how overwhelmed I have been. From the start I was overwhelmed, but that was because I hadn’t studied since graduating in 2018. It was like being the new kid starting at a new school. Additionally, at the start I was overwhelmed because of the expectation I had already set up for myself despite not knowing anything about the content. But despite that, one of my lecturers had taken me under their wing and have helped me massively in terms of making sure I’m on track and don’t get stuck.


Right now, at the end of the semester, I am bumming myself out. The grades I have received during this first semester are average. I know it shouldn’t, but it’s really hurting because I was a high achiever in high school and prided myself on it. The reason I got those grade in high school is, one, I worked hard, and two, I had experience and lots of knowledge in the subjects I was studding. I know I can’t expect to start a whole new field of practice and be perfect at it. Overall, I’m learning so much and having the most fun I’ve had studding in a while.


Ass a whole, I have created things that are so in line with what I want to create, and I have learned so many things I never thought I would. I shouldn’t spiral and think negatively and let that ruin the experience I’ve had.





4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Goals

bottom of page